Page 1 2 3 4 ... 18
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Kundalini and the Holy Spirit Login/Join

posted
What follows is my opening post for this thread, originally published on August 18, 2001.

An early archive: http://shalomplace.com/res/Kun...andtheHolySpirit.pdf

Discussion from Feb. - April 2009: http://shalomplace.com/res/Kun...ndtheHolySpirit2.pdf

--------------------------

Posted by Phil (Member # 1) on August 18, 2001 11:40 AMAugust 18, 2001 11:40 AM:

Sooner or later this topic needs to be discussed directly, although it is touched upon in almost every thread on this particular forum. And to start of the discussion, let me first say that I'm still learning, and have reached no final conclusions about it all.

With that proviso, here are some observations:

1. There are two "directions" that interplay in the spiritual life.
- a. the human reaching for God.
- b. God reaching for the human.

2. It seems to me that Eastern religions build upon the dynamism of the human reaching for God, while the Judeo-Christian-Islam traditions emphasize God reaching for the human. These are generalizations, of course, but I think they have merit.

3. The kundalini experience of an energy latent in most people, which becomes awakened/ignited, opens the metaphysical energy centers (chakras), and culminates with union with God in the 7th center is a superb expression of the Eastern dynamism. The kundalini process is an "ascent" from almost sub-human levels of concern and intelligence to "super-human" levels. As such, it has been called an "evolutionary energy" by Gopi Krishna and others, who view kundalini as the key to awakening and developing the fullness of our human potential and awakening us to a sense of cosmic consciousness and union with God and creation. The essay in this forum by Jim Arraj on a Christian philosophical understanding of kundalini explores this line of thinking much more fully and proposes kundalini to be a form of enlightenment, or natural union with God.