Moderators: Phil
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

More thoughts on nondual consciousness Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I am truly benefiting from perusing these threads. I had a non-dual awakening experience about six months ago through kundalini meditation. OK Maybe not the brightest idea. I didn't expect it to shake up my world as much as it has. The effects on my personality, relationships, creativity and sense of connection to God and creation has been positive for the most part. I have also had to wrestle with some pretty deep fears and psychic experiences. I am a seminary student and have tried to not be quick to interpret my experience too quickly. I have been bothered by the lack of clear mystical Christian teaching that is not completely gnostic. So I am interested in the process of reconciling the non-dual experience to exoteric Christian dogma. I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

Posts: 5 | Location: kearneys7@comcast.net | Registered: 14 May 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Welcome aboard, ekearney. Several of us here have had mystical experiences and are asking the same questions you do. One thing I can say for certain: there is no consensus answer! Bernadette Roberts offers some views in her books, which you may have read. And Hans Urs von Balthasar wrote a little essay ("The Unknown God," Elucidations, pp. 34-44) that's always seemed to me to be very important. And finally, in a blog post I wrote a while back, I offer my own take: Did Jesus Teach Nondualism?

Posts: 1013 | Location: Canada | Registered: 03 April 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Phil
posted Hide Post
Greetings, ekearney. I second Derek's welcome.

We had an extensive discussion on this topic sometime back:
- https://shalomplace.org/eve/for...5110765/m/6144087118

This thread also offers some clarifications.