Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

"spirit and nature" Login/Join 
posted
Hi,
I'm an MTS student who is taking a course this semester in World Religions & Christianity. One of the topics up for discussion this week centers around a film we saw called "Spirit & Nature" moderated by Bill Moyers. The question that has been placed before the class focuses on "Christianity and Ecology" and I guess specifically, the Christian's understanding of where we stand in relation to the woundedness of the earth and the people's on it. I personally sense a loss of reverence for the immanency of God has led us down this path of irreverance for the created order ...human beings included! Our wonder and awe is GONE and we show it...at least from my vantage point.
What are your thoughts? Where do we sit in relation to our view of creation and some other traditions like that of Native Americans or Buddhists?

Posts: 7 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: 15 April 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Freda: Welcome. I especially like the perspective of Richard Rohr and his and Ken Wilber's affirmation of the Great Chain of Being
click here: Great Chain of Being

And find some common ground with Matthew Fox and Rupert Sheldrake which you can find links to here: Creation Spirituality

Those are more Catholic type perspectives which seek to better balance the immanent created being with the transcendence of Uncreated Being, though there is no doubt there has been a loss of reverence for the immanency, at times. We affirm both the immanent and transcendent in Catholicism but tend to resolve the issue of balance both/and-ishly with panentheism which is not pantheism.