Ad
ShalomPlace.com    Shalom Place Community    Shalom Place Discussion Groups  Hop To Forum Categories  Premium Groups  Hop To Forums  Discerning God's Will    E. Self-knowledge and the use of one's talents
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

E. Self-knowledge and the use of one's talents Login/Join 
Picture of Phil
posted
Every now and then, I look through the want ads to see what kinds of employment is available in our area. Even though I am happy with my current work situation, I nonetheless do find myself attracted to some of the options listed. I've been working in ministry in one way or another for almost 30 years now, and I wonder what it might be to do something totally different . . . like sell insurance, or do construction work, or even open my own diner and sell a few Cajun dishes that I learned to cook growing up in south Louisiana. The fantasy doesn't last too long, especially when compared to the thoughts that linger after reading the ads in the National Catholic Reporter. I am really drawn to some of the opportunities described there, especially if they are in what seems to be a different and interesting part of the country (or even world).

The difference between the ads in the NCR and the ones in the Wichita Eagle is that the former resonate more strongly with the person I have come to know myself to be through the years. In terms of discerning God's will, I understand this stronger attraction to the NCR ads to signify how God's call is generally congruent with who we are . . . with the gifts and talents that God has given us.

Parable of the Talents