Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pray! Login/Join 
Picture of Phil
posted
I've been doing spiritual direction for well over 30 years now, and I can say with confidence that the only people who really advance in the spiritual life are those who have a regular practice of prayer.

By this, I mean that they take one or two times each day to be alone with God, to relate to God using some method or another that opens them to the influence of the Spirit in their consciousness.
- see http://shalomplace.com/res/prayer.html for Christian methods of prayer

I can also say that this generally works best for most first thing in the morning, before checking email, watching news, or even doing much relating to others. It seems there is a special openness and vulnerability for a short while after waking up, after which the mind begins to spin about this or that. Introducing prayer before engaging with the everyday routine allows the mind to operate in the context of a greater spaciousness that one can learn to tune into throughout the day. It might even be essential to have other quiet prayer breaks during the day.

People have asked about my own practice, here, and so I will share that I generally have at least three prayer periods, one shortly after waking, one after breakfast, and another in the evening.
- the first prayer period consists of 45-60 min. of quiet sitting, during which time I pray various prayers, sing at times, do breathing prayer, and sometimes there is glossalalia; by the end, I feel deeply connected to God, energized, and ready for the day.
- the second consists of Morning Prayer from the Church's liturgy of the hours; these are prayers said mindfully, with a time for intentions as well; I generally take the last 5 of this 15 min for quiet prayer.
- the third is similar to the second, but the focus is Evening Prayer in late afternoon.

Before bedtime, I also do a brief Examen of Consciousness, noting gratitudes and regrets.