Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Growing a nest egg . . . Login/Join

posted
Only indirectly related to "health and wellness" except if you think financial health is important.

I'm 57 now and wish I'd paid more attention to this through the years. I'd like to retire in a few years, and that will take more income than Social Security can provide. I've put a little away into IRAs, but didn't pay close enough attention to what was happening and lost over 50% of my savings between 2000 and 2002. Since then, I've been a better manager of my money. What I'd invite sharing about, here, is anything you've found helpful unto growing a nest egg. Johnboy's been a help to me, here, and I'm sort of getting the hang of it.

----

At my age, I've got about 45% in cash/bonds and the rest divided among a number of stocks, mutual funds and ETFs that span the various sectors. Here are a few winners:

ABB - good company; up 70% this year; should keep on growing.

PVX - one of those Canadian Royalty Trusts you might have read about. Good earnings and 11% dividends.

ADVDX - a dividends earning fund; around 11% dividends and holds its own price-wise.

FAIRX - rock-solid mutual fund, even in down times.

AAPL - doubled this year (why didn't I buy more) and will undoubtedly keep growing for awhile longer until the world is saturated with iPods and iPhones.

PRPFX - a good, steady conservative mutual fund that grew even in the 2000-02 bear market.

LSBRX - superb bond fund; up almost 9% this year.

BAYRK - Bayer. On track for 50% this year.

SLF - Sun Life Insurance. Good, strong steady performer.

VFIIX - GNMA bond fund. Around 5%. Low expenses.

OIBBX - world bond mutual fund; class B, but good enough earnings and dividends to justify it.

VTI - total stock market index ETF. Get some of this to do at least as well as the total market.

Found out more about these at http://finance.yahoo.com/ by searching Get Quotes.

----------