Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

On the importance of dogma Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Hi. Well, my only point is this: I advocate what St. Francis' position about preaching the gospel, and when if necessary, use words. I do not advocate an anti-intellectual approach to religous experience, I have myself a masters in both philosophy and theology. I did my masters thesis on the christology of Piet Schoonenberg, a Catholic theologian. And I fully understand that both Hinduism and and Buddhism have deep philosophical and theological schools of thought...whether it's advaita, vendanta, or mahayana . I just see the limitations of human thought and language when it comes to capturing the experience of the transcendent in our midst. We continue to argue about Jesus'uniqueness etc..as if our lives depended on it and we forget about the more important things such as faith, hope and love.

As far as Ammachi goes, I lived with her for six weeks in India I have followed her for six years, and I see what she does. And, her hug is just a bit more than a hug, in Hinduism it is called "darshan" or experiencing the presence of God. Quite frankly, meeting Amma rekindled my youthful faith in Jesus, because I can imagine that he gathered people around him in the same way Jesus did...and that in Jesus presence, people experienced God's presence in a radically new way. However, Jesus didn't give hugs (or maybe he did), but he did break bread. She inspires me not necessarily because of what she teaches with her mouth, but what she does with her hands and feet.

Devinath

Posts: 40 | Location: stevens point, wisconsin | Registered: 16 July 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
We continue to argue about Jesus'uniqueness etc..as if our lives depended on it and we forget about the more important things such as faith, hope and love.