Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Introduction to this forum Login/Join

posted Hide Post
I hope others reply because I am a beginner in prayer and my experiences are limited...

I don't think the 5th, 6th, and 7th mansions of Teresa are normative experiences... I think very few are brought to this level by Jesus and ultimately to the transforming union where you can say that you no longer live but Jesus lives in you. I think the most important teaching in prayer for the masses is the "transition from meditation to contemplation" (Dubay talks about this in detail as does Arraj). John says half come to the beginning of the 4th mansion, while Teresa believes most are brought to it. John's "3 signs" are very helpful, frustration and boredom with meditation I believe is often God's way of leading us to a new kind of prayer where we do less and less of the work in prayer and He does more and more of it.

I think the most important confirmation of how authentic your prayer is not what you experience during prayer, but how you live your life outside of prayer. Is the Holy Spirit birthing more fruit in your daily life? Are you more patient with others, more loving with your family, kind in difficult situations, have more compassion toward others in general... and most importantly, are you falling more deeply in love with Jesus? I don't think we can grow in the virtues like this unless we remain faithful to receiving/giving love to Jesus in our time of prayer... we can only be changed by exposing ourselves to Him spirit to Spirit during prayer.

I believe that God gives people gifts that enable them to receive supernatural manifestations and experiences from Him (visions, locutions, translations, etc.)... but if you talk to many of these people about what their prayer lives are like and if they are knowing the Person of Jesus I think you will be disappointed in their answers... at least this has been my experience.

Caneman