Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Swedenborg Login/Join 
<Asher>
posted
Ok, I'm new to this topic, but want to explore it as I go along. This is a simply stunning life:

http://www.newdualism.org/Swedenborg.htm

Big Grin

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<Asher>
posted
Sorry I haven't been around to engage any sort of discussion on this topic. I don't have much time these days, but I wanted to at least open this topic a little further with Swendenborg's account of a pivotal experience:

"Prior to his spiritual crisis, Swedenborg had experienced "a certain cheering light and joyful flash" darting through his brain when he was in the presence of truth.15 Thus, whenever he felt any lack of clarity or mental confusion he took that as a sign not to go on immediately. As he proceeded with his investigations he came closer to passing over the abyss between matter and spirit and between philosophy and revelation. His journal of dreams not only documents his spiritual crisis, but also serves as a record of his personal call:

I saw also in vision that fine bread on a plate was presented to me; which was a sign that the Lord Himself will instruct me since I have now come first into the condition that I know nothing, and all preconceived judgments are take away from me; which is where learning commences; namely, first to be a child and thus be nursed into knowledge, as is the case with me now.16