Find
Notify
Tools

Praying to Saints Login/Join 
posted
Praying To Saints

12 May by Martha of Ireland

InternetMonk.com

I tried to link, not working. if interested you can find her piece at: InternetMonk.com

I have been following the discussion (get them dunked) with great interest. Thanks everyone, especially Ariel for framing a few of questions that I have been pondering for a few years.

The link I posted above was helpful for me, Martha's intelligence, humor & wit is well worth your time to read if you have questions, or are like me, dragging my (your) feet to Rome.

I would love feedback on what Martha has to say, and what any of your ideas are on the practice of praying to the Saints. Curious to learn more... Thanks!

Posts: 173 | Location: East Lansing, MI | Registered: 18 July 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Gail.. i just now found your post.. there has been so much posting lately some posts i did not see.. this looks interesting! i will post after i look at her stuff.. thanks for sharing! love christine

Posts: 281 | Registered: 19 October 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Praying To Saints
12 May by Martha of Ireland. Internetmonk.com
( I did get permission to repost this here)

Martha of Ireland is without a doubt the smartest person I have ever conversed with, even if our conversations all occur through email. Knowing that she is 1) a faithful follower of Jesus, 2) a Catholic, and 3) not afraid to share her thoughts, I went to her with a topic that troubles many Protestants—and, to be honest, many Catholics as well: Praying to saints. A very controversial subject to be sure.

I had always heard from my Catholic friends that we Protestants have it all wrong. We are not to “pray to saints,” but ask these saints to pray for us. I thought Martha would say, “Yes, that’s the way it is. Why can’t you people of the Reformation get it straight?” But as always, Martha has a few tricks up her sleeve.