Moderators: Phil
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Contemplative Prayer in Scripture Login/Join 
posted
Hi, I have been practicing "contemplative prayer" for about the last 18 months and truly enjoy it (most of the time!). This form of prayer has transformed my relationship with Jesus, and given it a reality to His person and presence that I had not experienced previously.

When I discuss contemplative prayer with some of my more conservative evangelical friends they ask me:

"That sounds good, but where is contemplative prayer mentioned in the Scripture... Jesus taught us the method of prayer with the Lord's Prayer... I don't see that we should be quiet when we pray..."

So my question to anyone, please offer Scriptural support for this method of prayer. I have searched the Scriptures that relate to this and have found a few, and offer them for comment:

2 Cor 3:18 "But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit." [NASB]

Romans 8:6 "..the mind set on the Spirit is peace and life" [NASB]

Blessings,

Caneman

PS - about a year ago I "stumbled" across this forum and had some questions about centering prayer... your answers helped me very much, thank you (especially Phil!). Smiler

Posts: 99 | Registered: 25 February 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Will Matthew 6:6 (NAB)help.

...."But when you pray, go to your inner room,
close the door and pray to your Father in secret.
And your Father, who sees in secret, will repay you."

The NKJ version is worded differently.
"But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly."

Posts: 135 | Registered: 05 August 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<HeartPrayer>
posted
Paul writes:

"Pray without ceasing."

1. Thess. 5:17

Reply With QuoteReport This Post