Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

A substantive happiness, prodigal issues Login/Join 
posted
Hello again, people.

So you all know about the issues I've been complaining about, suffering for several years now. Starting the beginning of this year, I started praying with my mother everyday on the phone. She calls me and I her and we say the our father in the morning. I was meditating and felt like God asked me to do that.

I also started going to confession and mass and received communion for the first time in a very long time. Also have slowly been incorporating more and more praying in my day to day life.

It's not very disciplined but I do remember to talk to Jesus directly and ask him questions and for help. It was after such conversations that I felt inspired to ask my mother to pray together for peace in our family (things were fast turning dark there). Sometimes I remember Our lady's request/promise for family peace through the rosary and say that too. I also pray to st. Therese the little flower every day for all my problems. I asked her to be my friend, to help me/remind me see God's goodness like she did.

It occurred to me the other day that a lot of my problems in the past two years began when I started fearing being unpopular/despised/isolated for my religious beliefs and essentially started pretending/lying to avoid that. I have made a quiet act willing to be unpopular once I realized I was going through some kind of ego death that I was fighting desperately to avoid. I realized I feel peace when I am still, open, surrendering and when I make an act of self-denial, like going without salt or some food I feel a craving for. I accepted this ego death by being willing to be unpopular, to be genuinely disliked, go without the people I was unwilling to go without before.