Moderators: Phil
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Protestant Work Ethic? Login/Join 
posted
Hi all: I've been reading these forums pretty regularly for several weeks, although I first found Shalom Place this spring. I was just reading out of curiosity, not due to any sort of crisis. About 2 1/2 weeks ago,though, some things said here really struck me, and I began a process of letting myself remember experiences that I thought were long behind me. Namely, though Jesus talks about the last being first and the first being last, since I was a kid I've often felt conspicuously among both the first and last, and rarely in the company of the middle of the pack: as far as "first" goes, though I say it myself Smiler, I am a talented artist; being a sculptor is my occupation and I've won quite a few awards in international exhibitions within the realistic field that I work in. And while in school I was usually at the head of my class except in math and some of the sciences. But the "last" aspects I felt as a kid have had more of an impact on me than I would admit till recently: for one thing, I had a slight speech problem as a kid; I could usually cover it up in conversation, but it was almost intolerably embarrassing if I couldn't.(Sorry about going into some detail here, but I feel I have to say this stuff out loud just because I so much don't want to do so.) Also, and perhaps more importantly, I felt I looked very different than my classmates. I went to school in a university town, but in an area with a very homogeneous population of Pennsylvania German natives.("If you ain't Dutch you ain't much" is still pretty popular around here.) My dark curly hair that in the late 70's/early 80's refused to feather nicely and my different looks probably would not have been a big deal to me at all, except that my dad didn't tell us he was Jewish till I was an adult. So I just felt I stuck out among my classmates because something was wrong with me personally.